“Evolution” of Kanye West

Rapper Profile: Kanye West

Name: Kanye Omari West1e08261d318f3070d9ca098aef6ac3f4
AKA: Yeezy, Ye, Yeezus
Born: June 8, 1977
Hometown: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Albums
College Dropout
Late Registration
Graduation
808s & Heartbreak
My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy
Watch the Throne
Yeezus
The Life of Pablo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Remember the good old days, when you thought about Kanye West, you thought about his music? Even though Yeezy is still making music, it seems that a lot of people mostly talk about his personal life, controversial friends & family, and his notorious lengthy rants about politics, the music industry, and pretty much anything that seems to piss him off. He has a reputation of being rude, self-centered and narcissistic. I mean, the guy even released a song called, “I Love Kanye.”

However, this post is not about his personal life or whatever the Kardashians are doing, this is about Evolution of Kanye – how he, as an artist and through his music, evolved from a kid producing beats for rappers in his basement in Chicago, to one of the most famous and prolific musicians of all time. People seem to forget what Yeezy has done for hip hop. He produces tracks for tons of top selling artists including Jay Z, Drake, Alicia Keys, The Game, John Legend, and more. His signature style of sampling classic mo-town, soul, and R&B songs instantly makes whatever he produces into a hit. He’s also obviously a very talented rapper, with 8 chart topping albums with features from the industry’s best. He even has a couple of Grammys, which speaks for itself. With Kanye, people just need to look past what’s going on in the tabloids and simply just listen to his music.

Below is a playlist of my favourite 2 tracks from every Kanye West album, starting with The College Dropout, and ending with The Life of Pablo. Listen how he evolves as an artist from album to album, playing on different themes, perfecting his craft.

Track List

  1. All Falls Down – The College Dropout (2004)
  2. Through the Wire – The College Dropout (2004)
  3. Touch the Sky – Late Registration (2005)
  4. Drive Slow – Late Registration (2005)
  5. Flashing Lights – Graduation (2007)
  6. Can’t Tell Me Nothing – Graduation (2007)
  7. Love Lockdown – 808s & Heartbreak (2008)
  8. Heartless – 808s & Heartbreak (2008)
  9. Devil in a New Dress – My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy (2010)
  10. All of the Lights – My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy (2010)
  11. Otis – Watch the Throne (2011)
  12. Murder to Excellence – Watch the Throne (2011)
  13. New Slaves – Yeezus (2013)
  14. Bound 2 – Yeezus (2013)
  15. FML – The Life of Pablo (2016)
  16. Father Stretch My Hands, Pt. 1 – The Life of Pablo (2016)

Listen on Apple Music
Listen on Spotify

The Game – Pokemon

Game Series: Pokemon025Pikachu_OS_anime_11
Owned By: Nintendo, Game Freak
Created By: Satoshi Tajiri & Ken Sugimori
First Release: 1996 (Pokemon Red & Green)
Main Series Games To Date
Pokemon Red & Green (Japan 1996)
Pokemon Red & Blue (North America 1998)
Pokemon Yellow (1999)
Pokemon Gold & Silver (1999)
Pokemon Crystal (2000)
Pokemon Ruby & Sapphire (2002)
Pokemon Leaf Green & Fire Red (2004)
Pokemon Emerald (2005)
Pokemon Diamond & Pearl (2006)
Pokemon Platinum (2008)
Pokemon Heart Gold & Soul Silver (2009)
Pokemon Black & White (2010)
Pokemon Black 2 & White 2 (2011)
Pokemon X & Y (2013)
Pokemon Omega Ruby & Alpha Sapphire (2014)
Pokemon Sun & Moon (2016)

On the theme of evolution, the video game that I will be writing about for this post is Pokemon. Let me just start off by saying that I am a HUGE Pokemon fan, and have played every single game in the main series from start to finish. I’ve been hooked on the game since I received my first copy of Pokemon Blue for the Gameboy Colour when I was 7 years old, and I’ve never gotten bored of it. I grew up playing the games, watching the show, and collecting the cards, and I even cried watching 1st Pokemon movie. I took the game’s catchphrase, “Gotta Catch em All,” to heart and did just that – I have every single available Pokemon, (there are 801 now). For me, Pokemon was about just escaping everything from around me and immersing myself in the Pokemon world, collecting different Pokemon, training them and battling. Even to this date, I still play frequently, while listening to some Kanye of course. I consider myself to be a Pokemon Master, and I welcome any and all challengers to my title!

Here is some footage of me battling in the latest Pokemon game, Pokemon Moon.

Photo Attributions

.http://youredm.youredm1.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/02/kanye-west-rare-smile.jpg?x56677.

.https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/originals/1e/08/26/1e08261d318f3070d9ca098aef6ac3f4.jpg.

.http://vignette4.wikia.nocookie.net/pokemon/images/5/5f/025Pikachu_OS_anime_11.png/revision/latest?cb=20150717063951.

 

Leave a Reply

